- Register of Deeds
- Marriage License Info & Online License Submission
Obtaining a Marriage License & Online Submission Option
Please review the instructions below carefully regarding marriage license applications. It is not required, but is strongly recommended that you call our office ahead of time at (336) 753-6080 in order to schedule an appointment to come into the office for the completion of your marriage license.
In order to expedite your time in the Register of Deeds Office, please visit our online marriage license application portal at daviemarriage.org and submit an online marriage license application (English & Spanish versions available). Should you not have access to the internet, however, you may print off a marriage license application form here and bring it with you to the Register of Deeds Office.
Please complete the marriage license application form in its entirety ensuring that all information is accurate and true. If you submit an application and then later discover you made an error, DO NOT submit another application. Instead, bring any corrections to the attention of the Register or her staff when you arrive in person to complete the application process.
Please note that within 15 days of completing the online submission form, both parties must come to the Davie County Register of Deeds Office located in the Davie County Administration Building at 123 South Main Street in Mocksville, North Carolina . After 15 days has expired, the Register of Deeds Office will no longer store your submission for a marriage license and you will be required to re-input all your data.
Important Information and What to Bring?
Each marriage license applicant must bring the following:
- Two (2) acceptable forms of identification each (one must be a legible, government issued photo ID such as a driver’s license, State issued ID card, U.S. passport, or Military ID) and the other may be a social security card or certified birth certificate). Per N.C.G.S. §15-311, matricular consular cards are not accepted;
- If either applicant has been divorced for less than six (6) months immediately preceding the date of the application, he or she will also need to bring a copy of his or her previous divorce judgment showing the final date of divorce;
- If either applicant is a widow or widower, the date of death of the deceased spouse will be required;
- The name and telephone number of the officiant, magistrate’s office, or person performing the ceremony in the event we need to contact them to retrieve the fully executed marriage license after the ceremony (if known); and
- $60.00 (cash or card).
Requirements to marry under North Carolina General Statutes:
- Any person at least 18 years old, unless otherwise incapacitated, may lawfully marry in the State of North Carolina.
- If either party to the proposed marriage is between 16-18 years old, a marriage license may only be issued if the couple's age difference is no more than four years. Additionally, the applicant between 16-18 must file either a certified copy of a North Carolina district court order authorizing the marriage OR written consent to the marriage signed by (a) a parent having full or joint legal custody of the underage applicant; or (b) a person, agency, or institution having legal custody or serving as guardian of the underage marriage applicant.
- A marriage license may also be issued to any person between the ages of 16-18 whom the court has emancipated from parental authority. Please note a certified copy of the emancipation decree or certificate of emancipation must be filed with our office before the license can be issued.
Finally, after reviewing your application for accuracy, checking your identification, and collecting the required $60.00 fee, the Register or a staff member will administer an oath to each applicant prior to obtaining signatures on the actual marriage license. After signatures are obtained, the marriage license will be yours to take for completion by your minister or officiant on the big day!
Please note that pursuant to the North Carolina General Statutes, once a marriage license has been issued by the Register of Deeds, it is only valid for sixty (60) days. If the marriage does not occur for any reason within sixty (60) days of issuance of the license, a new license application must be submitted and additional fees must be paid. Additionally, a North Carolina marriage license is valid only for marriages taking place anywhere inside the State of North Carolina, but they must be returned to the county of issuance.
Helpful Magistrate's Office Information:
As of March 2022, all marriage ceremonies performed by the Davie County Magistrate’s Office are by APPOINTMENT ONLY and must be scheduled on the following days and times:
Tuesday: 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. & 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday: 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. & 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Thursday: 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. & 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
* No ceremonies will be performed on Saturdays or Sundays.
* Appointments are required to be made in advance. Please call (336) 936-3019 to schedule appointments.
* No same day appointment requests will be granted.
* Parties must provide their own two (2) witnesses.