Foster care service are provided to any child for whom the agency has placement responsibility and the child is placed in a licensed care facility, or in the home of a relative if that home is not the home the child was in when the agency received custody or placement responsibility. These services include:
- Arranging for appropriate placement in licensed facilities
- Collaborating with community agencies who serve the needs of children and families to ensure that appropriate services are available to meet the needs of children in foster care and to facilitate permanence
- Monitoring and supervising the child's progress in care
- Planning with families and coordinating services to have children returned to their homes as quickly as possible (the goal is to accomplish reunification in one year)
- Providing case management to provide casework and other treatment services to facilitate the child's psychological adjustment and to assist the parents or other responsible relatives to improve conditions in an effort to enable the child to return to his own home
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Foster Parenting Application <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Foster Parent Frequently Asked Questions
Davie County Social Services is committed to providing training and support every step of the way. Common questions are received by the department concerning the requirements for becoming a foster parent. Below are just a sample of those frequently asked questions.
What is required to become a foster parent in North Carolina?
Foster parents must be at least 21 years old, have a stable home and income, be willing to be finger printed and have a criminal records check, maintain a drug free environment and complete all required training and be licensed by the state of North Carolina.
Who are the children in need of foster parents?
The children that are placed into the state foster care program have typically been neglected, abused or abandoned, and range in age from infancy through 18 years of age. Children may also be a part of a sibling group, have special needs and represent various cultural and economic groups.
What kind of assistance is available for foster parents?
Foster parents receive financial compensation from the placement agency for a child’s room, board, and other living expenses. Sometimes there are supplemental payments for the care of children with special needs.
Who can I contact to learn more about becoming a foster parent in Davie County?
Interested individuals and families may contact the Davie County Department of Social Services at 336-753-6253.
Adoption is the method by law to establish the legal relationship of parent and child between persons who are not so related by birth, with the same mutual rights and obligations that exist between children and their birth parents. The primary purpose of adoption is to help children whose parents are incapable of assuming or continuing parental responsibilities to become part of a new family.
The program provides the following services:
- Counsel women on problem pregnancy situations
- Initiation of legal termination of or accept relinquishment of parental rights
- Monitor adoptive placements, complete adoption searches, complete Orders for Report to the court and independent adoption studies for families
- Operate, monitor, and maintain adoption assistance for children with special needs
- Place and integrate children into adoptive families
- Provide post-adoptive services
- Report to the court on progress and well being of children placed for adoption and fulfill related court orders
This service provides intensive services to children, both in foster care and at home in terms of making permanent plans for them. Permanency planning prevents foster care drift and promotes better planning for children in Social Services caseloads.
Independent Living Services
Davie County's independent living services provide adolescents 16-21 years old with additional services while they reside in foster care and during the follow-up that will help them in developing independent living skills. The purpose of this program is to ensure participants may have a more successful transition to living on their own following discharge from foster care.
For questions about Davie County's foster care, adoption or independent living services, please contact the Social Services Department at (336) 753-6250.